Deck Review- The Gilded Reverie Lenormand

Published November 21, 2013 by Tarot By Elizabeth

Gilded Reverie Lenormand

I must admit, I’ve been quite curious about the Lenormand fervor that has been sweeping many folks off their feet but always hesitated because  I figured that it may be more complex that I wanted to try to figure out. Until I saw The Gilded Reverie Lenormand by one of my favorite  deck creator, Ciro Marchetti.

I was absolutely blown away by this Lenormand deck! I’ve always loved Ciro’s Tarot art with his use of rich colors and interesting images parading through his decks so when I saw that U.S. Games had published a mass market version of his Lenormand deck, I emailed Lynn right away.

The first thing I delighted in was the clever box that this Lenormand deck comes in. At first, it looked like it should slide out like a sleeve but to my amazement, it actually flips up and opens like a treasured book. The front of the flip lid is the beautiful picture of the Birds card, numbered 12 and is beautifully accented with gilded scrolling and highlighted imagery. This was my first hint of the absolute treasure inside!

The cards themselves number from ( 1. ) Rider, to (36.)  Cross, a standard number for a Petit Lenormand and have breathtakingly shiny gilded edging! The backs are a lovely dual red and burgundy checks with decorative golden colored scrolling and border effects. Unlike Tarot, Lenormand is not read with reversals so this would be an awesome Lenormand introduction for beginners to start out with. The card stock is the same high quality that sets U.S. Games decks apart from the all others. The deck itself is a tad larger than traditional Lenormand decks at  2.75” x 4.125”  and shuffles amazingly.

The one thing that I noticed is that when you have your question in mind and are shuffling and laying out two or three cards,  the answers you get are quite clear and understandable…as well as outright blunt, but I admire in the deck. Answers that are somewhat hazy as with some Tarot decks , are perfectly clear with gorgeous Lenormand!  For instance…(32.)Moon+(27) Letter can indicate that you will  get a letter of recognition or an award from your boss or a love letter from your sweetie arrives.

Unlike Tarot cards, these cards come with keywords, playing card inserts and can be learned in just a few short weeks. There are some wonderful Lenormand study groups and blogs out there to help if you want to know all the little tips and tricks. The Gilded Reverie can be read using the keywords for each card or along with the inserts as well to add a slightly different dimension to the answers that it provides. There is a LWB (little white book) that comes with this deck that gives intriguing insights into what the card means, layouts that you can try, and a brief history of The Lenormand as used as an oracle.

The Gilded Reverie has absolutely won me over and in just a week and a half, I was reading the image keywords and building sentences with lines of 3, 5 and block of 9 cards (so proud of myself!) I must say, this is an amazing deck and the way that Lenormand shows exactly what you need to do…no holds barred …It may just overtake my Tarot heart. I wholeheartedly recommend that anyone from beginner or seasoned reader, Tarot or Lenormand cards give this deck a go, it will definitely surprise you with it’s answers.

Artist: Ciro Marchetti

Publisher: U.S.Games

ISBN: 978-1-57281-754-8

9 comments on “Deck Review- The Gilded Reverie Lenormand

  • I´m a fan of Ciro Marchetti´s work! I have the Gilded Tarot, I love it! These Lenormand cards are amazing beautiful. I used to work with several Tarot or Oracles, but I never worked with Lenormand, I´m really tempted, since I saw Under the Roses Lenormand and now Gilded Reverie Lenormand. I said there´s keywords in the cards, but I don´t see any keyword in the cards, did I misunderstood? Thank you for your post!

  • I love Ciro’s work! I have his “Glided Tarot” deck and I enjoy using it. I am super happy that US Games is publishing this deck rather than Llwelynn’s Publishers. The quality of the cards from Llwelynn’s are flimsy and the surface easily peels off over time, which is what happened to my Glided Tarot deck. US Games, from what I have noticed and experienced, produces better quality cards and the fact Ciro’s work will be published by them is super exciting! I know what I want for the holidays now. Thank you for this review. =)

  • I love this deck! I first stepped into the Lenormand world as the results of winning a free deck of Lenormand cards. When I saw Ciro was putting a deck out, I knew I had to have them! I have a few of his Tarot decks. He’s a wonderful artist.

  • Great review. I have this deck myself for some time now and I love working with it. “Blunt” is the word I use very often to describe the lenormand system and it is an aspect I have to get used to 😀

  • I found a discrepancy in 18-Dog in that my deck was assigned 10-Spades, not 10-Hearts.The print date is July 2013, US Game Systems, 1-57281-754-2

    Is this a known error? I’ve searched to no-avail….

  • Leave a Reply

