Mad Max and The Fool

Published August 20, 2013 by Tarot By Elizabeth

The Gypsy Palace Tarot1

A long time ago…(way before dirt, as my children would say…) There was an awesome book published called “Where the Wild Things Are”  by Maurice Sendak and as a child, it became my most favorite book out of all the books I had collected…and that was A LOT back then…  Anyhow, the book was all about a boy named Max, who one day was feeling quite adventurous and wild…. ran about his house leaving it in total and utter disarray. His mum, was so upset that she sent the very busy Max to his room. Consequently, Max sat and fumed and fussed at his mum for sending him to his room because he had felt that this punishment quite unjust!

Suddenly, as he sat angry with his mum, something extraordinary began to happen…. His room began to transform into a wild and tangled jungle…and as this story progresses, he winds up sailing to an island inhabited by malicious beasts known as the “Wild Things.” After successfully intimidating the creatures, calming their wild ways… Max is hailed as the king of the Wild Things and enjoys a playful romp with his subjects… later, he decides to return home.

After arriving back in his own house, Max discovers a hot supper waiting for him and we are left with a wonderful lesson, engagingly  illustrated  by the psychoanalytic story of anger. I speak about this story today because like Max, I lost my temper.

I’m usually quite patient with people, I like to give folks the benefit of doubt…but for some reason I had just about enough of people that given day and I lashed out,  nearly snapping sweeties head off.  When I have moments like that, I always wait until I cool down and then draw a Tarot card or two just to see what I could learn from the situation. That day, I had just received The Gypsy Palace Tarot  from the amazing Nora Huszka…..so I thought I would shuffle and see what this unique and beautiful deck had to say about it.

I was utterly and totally taken aback when I turned over my first card…it was The Fool! I had previously thumbed through the deck and right off noticed that this particular Fool card  looked almost like the “Wild Things” from that once much loved book from my childhood. I instantly realized the message: ” Do not get caught up in how you got upset and lashed out.  Put that one negative incident behind you and start again as Max got his second chance  with his mum having forgiven him, preparing a nice hot meal… just like Max…Sweetie did not hold this moment against me, accepting my anger …giving me the gift of starting over fresh! “

Leave a Reply

